I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-02-19 - 10:19 pm�
Is that optimism?

Today was really, really busy. The phone wouldn't stop ringing, and just about every call signalled some sort of crisis for me to deal with. It was hectic, to say the least, but the day just sped by and everything did end up working out. I came home today knowing that did a good job, and accomplished many things. So it was a good day.

One thing I love about this job, is that just about every day something happens that gives me a good feeling about humanity. A feeling that there are people-- normal, ordinary people-- in the world who are caring, giving and kind. I love our volunteers. Today when I was scrambling to find drivers for all of the rides I'd scheduled, two very sweet volunteers bailed me out at the last minute, and seemed genuinely happy to do it. Even though I already had them each booked for several rides tomorrow, when they heard that I was short of drivers, they offered they services without being asked. And they each told me that if I am ever stuck again, to call them first.

They made my day.

They almost made me forget about the many calls today from people that weren't so nice. Because, on any given day, for every nice person I talk to, there are a half a nice miserable bastards who think that the sun rises and sets on their every whim.

Maybe it's just because this job is still shiny and new to me again, but the nice people do have the power to make me tolerant and forgiving towards the nasty ones. I hope it lasts. It's kind of nice to feel that the world might not be horrible place.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present