I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-02-14 - 5:52 pm�
I'm in an excellent mood, and it has nothing to do with Valentine's Day

I love my job. The past three days have been absolutely wonderful. I haven't minded getting up in the morning, and I haven't been dead tired by 9 at night either. And I think I've been smiling nearly constantly all week. One of my coworkers told me yesterday that from now on I will be known to him as "Smiles." I found that pretty damned funny, as I'm sure that most people who know me would too.

But I have reason to be smiling. I like going to work. I like my job. I'm excited about the things I am going to accoplish each day.

I like my coworkers. I feel welcomed, appreciated, and well liked. That stuff can really make all the difference in the world between job satisfaction and an disgruntled employee. It's good to feel needed and wanted. It's important.

I have been in such an amazingly good mood this week that it hardly seems real. But it is real, and I deserve it. This is turning into a Stuart Smalley moment-- I'm good enough, I'm smart enough, and doggone it, people like me!

So, in other news, in case you haven't noticed, it's Valentines Day. I hadn't really noticed until one of the ladies at work started giving everyone chocolate kisses. Valentine's Day doesn't mean much too me. It doesn't upset me, it doesn't make me feel alone, or bitter. If anything, it makes me feel a gooey nostalgia for childhood Valentine's Days.

I loved making those little Valentine "mailboxes" out of red construction paper to hang on the edge of my desk. And it was always so much fun to sort through the little store bought generic Valentines. My best friend and I would take ours home and giggle over the ones from the boys. We'd try to look for clues in their signatures or the messages on the front of the cards about whether or not they "liked" us. And now I'm reminding myself of a Lisa Simpson/Ralph Wiggum moment-- "I choo choo choose you!"

The only valentine I got today was from my mother. "You can be my valentine, Heather!" she told me, which is both sweet, and a wee bit pathetic. But by the same token, the gesture and the sentiment behind it is just so my mother. Which is one of the reasons I love her.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present