I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-01-10 - 10:10 pm�
Reminds me of "Flowers for Algernon"

I just finished watching a documentary about early onset Alzheimer's Disease. The documentary was centred upon a 19 year old girl, whose mother, grandmother, and several other members of her family developed the disease when they were each in their mid thirties. The girl was trying to make the decision whether or not to have genetic testing to find out if she had the gene that caused early onset Alzheimer's. She knew that she had a 50% chance of inheriting the disease, but with the test, she could find out for certain if she did have the gene.

She had the test, and it turned out that yes, she did have the gene. This means that she will almost certainly develop the disease within the next twenty years.

I can barely imagine what it would be like to know that. I don't think that I would want to know that. Would you? How could you live a normal life when you that you've got 15, maybe 20 years before you will start losing your mind, and no longer be able to take care of yourself?

Would you make the same choices as would if you didn't have that knowledge? Would you want to try to carry on, go to school, get an average job, buy a home? Or would you just try to do things differently? Would you just try to forget what is coming?

I don't know what I would do with that news. I'm sure that I would be very depressed. The unfairness of the situation would get to me. I know it would. It would be horribly depressing. I think I would have a hard time caring about living. I would wonder what the point of doing anything was, seeing as I wouldn't remember it in a few years anyway.

If I was told that I only had about 15 years left of normal life, I think, at least I hope, that I would make some changes for the better. It would put things into priority. I think that there are a lot of things that I just wouldn't do, or care about anymore. I suppose that I would try to make everyday count, not obsess over things that make me unhappy. And I would like to hope that I would make lots of time to do what's important to me.

What a terrible thing to be faced with though.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present