I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-12-22 - 10:18 pm�
Bittersweet

It's unsettling to feel like a stranger in a city that you still consider to be your home.

I just got back from my day and a half long mini vacation in Hamilton. I had a great time, despite the fact that I was (and still am) sick with a completely obnoxious head cold. The Tragically Hip concert was excellent. They played a very different set than they did at the last show I went to, which was a nice bonus, and they played my favorite song for me again, so really, I couldn't have asked for anything more.

I shopped at my favorite cool music stores, I pigged out on Tally Ho roast beef sandwiches, I visited with my friend Lisa, I checked out my inventory at the craft store... I covered a lot of my favorite things in the city.

In a lot of ways it felt like I'd never left. I still knew where everything was. The bus that we rode from the hotel to downtown was the same one that I used to take from the University, and the drivers even accepted my 2 year old bus tickets. Everything along the route was familiar-- there's the coffee pub where I used to study, there's the restaraunt where Jerky Boy took me to dinner, there's the falafal place where they put that yummy garlic sauce on everything, there's the bus stop where I broke my ankle, there's where I used to work.

But I had to ask the drivers about the route every time I got on the bus, not trusting my memories to be accurate. And the big mall downtown was so different than it used to be that I had to keep stopping to get my bearings so that I wouldn't get turned around the wrong way. And it took me forever to find the craft store because it changed locations since I left, and even though I knew the street that it had moved to, the street was way longer than I ever remember it.

And when we got into a taxi at the hotel, the cab driver gave us the standard proud Hamiltonian speech about the city ("lots to love about Hamilton, don't judge us on the steel plants alone, there's so much more to the city than that, and anyway, Toronto has more pollution than Hamilton does, and you should come here in summer when all the festivals are on"). I wanted to tell him that he didn't need to convince me, that I already know and love the city, that I belong there, that it is my home too.

It hurt to remember that it isn't my home anymore.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present