I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-12-20 - 5:55pm�
Christmas Cheer

I was productive today! Yay for me. I stopped by my former temp job today to pick up a copy of a job posting that they all want me to apply for. Everyone was really happy to see me, and they want to take me out for lunch next week if I'm not working. The people that I worked the closest with told me that a lot of the clients and volunteers have been asking for me, and that they were all very disappointed to learn that I wasn't working there anymore. That made me feel good. It's nice to know that I made a good impression.

Everyone gushed over my new haircut too. I've been getting way more compliments on my hair than I've ever had before. You know how usually when you get a new haircut people will just say, "Oh, that looks nice" when they first notice and that's it? I've been getting "I can't believe how good you look!" said to me, and not just once in a conversation either, but over and over. Not that I don't agree-- I love my haircut-- but I'm starting to think that I must have looked like crap before this.

I dropped off some toys for the city's Christmas toy drive today. My mom, brother and I each buy a toy to donate every year. We can't always afford to get really cool toys like we bought this year, but we always get a little something. As poor as we've been at times in our lives, my mom have always been able to scrimp and save enough to give my brother and I a good Christmas. Some years have been tighter than others-- we've qualified for the Christmas Cheer program in the past-- but we've always gotten by. Not everyone is that lucky.

I think that even now, even in developed, well educated countries, there is still a belief that poor people are poor because they deserve to be. Classism is a lot more subtle today than it used to be, but it still thrives. I just bristle everytime I hear someone say something like "Welfare Bums" or "So and so is so lazy, it's no wonder he/she is so poor" or "S/he is too stupid to handle money," or "S/he doesn't have to live that way." Poverty isn't a choice. Poverty is not something that just happens because someone is bad/stupid/lazy. Nobody deserves to be poor. Children born into low income families don't deserve to be poor. And they deserve to have a good Christmas. Everyone deserves that.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present