I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-12-14 - 6:49pm�
To work or not to work... who cares as long as I get paid!

Anyone remember me talking about the new temp job I was supposed to have this week? The one where I fold things and stuff them into envelopes?

It was supposed to start yesterday. I arrived there right on time, at 8:00am, and went home 20 minutes later. The things that I was supposed to fold and stuff didn't arrive. The courier didn't show up on Tuesday because of the huge snowstorm that day. I got paid for 4 hours anyway, because I showed up there and so they have to pay me for a minimum of 4 hours.

Cool. Day off, 4 hours pay.

The new plan, as it was given to me yesterday afternoon, was to work there today from 12-4, and then a full day tomorrow. I was to call in before I left for the job just to make sure that there was work for me to do.

I called them today, and guess what? The courier didn't arrive again. So I wasted half a day this time, and I didn't get a cent out of the deal because I didn't actually set foot in the office. Poopy.

Now I'm supposed to go in tomorrow at 8 am and I have been assured that there will be work for me. I kind of hope there isn't work for me again, and they send me home. At least I'd get some pay that way, and I'd still have most of the day off.

I want money for doing nothing, damnit!

I got my haircut today. It's really short... at least for me. I don't think I've ever had hair this short. It looks cute though. I like it, and they stylist showed me how to style it. Basically all I have to do is blowdry it. That means I'll have to shower in the morning now, but I guess I can handle that if it means having cute hair as opposed to too heavy to do anything with hair.

Things may be looking up on the family front. My mom took a turn with my grandmother today, and mom said that she seems about 25% better since the weekend. So hopefully she will continue to improve and we won't have to worry about 24 hour a day care. One of my out of town aunts (one that I actually like) came down today to stay with my grandmother until after Christmas, which is an enormous help. The rest of the family is still going to spell her off sometimes, or just go over there so my aunt has another sane person to interact with. I even said I'd go sleep over there with her one night. I just don't think I could be the only one to sleep over there with my grandmother though... I don't know what I do if she had a total breakdown, or worse, and I was the only one there.

Anyway, if my grandmother continues to improve, hopefully we won't have to have a big family confrontation, I mean discussion. I'm not looking for a reason to have it out with my family, but I'm ready to if I need to. So Sarah, I may not need to take you up on your very generous offer to bitch slap my family for me. It is nice to know that you will provide such a service for me if necessary though. Just watch out though-- some of my aunts are pretty vicious.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present