I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-12-12 - 4:40 pm�
Buttload of snow

I woke up to a winter wonderland this morning. It actually did look very pretty outside, I have to admit. I had forgotten how new fallen snow sparkles in the sunlight. I am I sucker for things that sparkle.

I don't think I would have found it too pretty if I'd looked out the window a few hours early though. We had quite the storm. All the schools were closed, the college was closed, all government offices were closed, and the buses didn't even start running until about 10:00 am. And because I have such charming luck, none of these closures meant anything to me because I happen to have the day off anyway.

Oh well.

So yeah, major, major snowstorm today. It's calm and sunny and not even too cold at the moment, but there is a buttload of snow on the ground. I suppose some of my readers, especially those in less snowbound areas might be wondering exactly how much a buttload of snow actually is. Well, let's say this: if the unplowed snow is up to my waist, I consider there to be a buttload of snow on the ground. If the snow drifts left on the side of the roads by the snow plows are taller than I am, I can safely estimate that there is in fact a buttload of snow on the ground.

I really hope they get everything plowed out by the time I have to go to work tomorrow morning. I have to walk to this new assignment. I'd really rather not arrive for work exhausted and soaked from the waist down from having to trudge through snow to get there. I may have to break down and call a taxi to take me. It would be a cheap ride-- in good weather, this place is only about a 15 minute walk from where I live.

In other news: we decorated our lopsided tree today. What a pain in the ass! I basically did it all. My brother announced that he was only decorating the section of the tree that he could reach from his seat on the couch. My mom was slightly better, she at least was willing to decorate. She was just really, really slow about everything. I should have been expecting it, it is the same thing every year. For my mom, decorating the tree means taking a walk down memory lane. 90% of the ornaments on our tree are handmade and/or have a story behind them. My mom saved every Christmas tree ornament that my brother and I made as children, and as she looks at every one, she sighs, and gets nostalgic. Example:

"Remember this one, Heather? You were no more than three when you made this. It was at that little story club at the library that I used to take you to, remember?"

Of course, mother. I remember my third year of life in vivid detail. Doesn't everyone?

It is kind of nice to have a tree that means something to us though. We have painted ornaments that my mom made the first Christmas that she was married. We have beautiful crocheted lace snowflakes that my dad's mother made for us a few years before she died. We have handmade ornaments from every year I was in Brownies and Girl Guides. We have a linked paper chain that I made in Kindergarten. We have a tissue paper and paper plate wreath that my brother claimed as in own in Kindergarten (In reality, several female classmates had "helped" him finish it in return for compliments on their hair and clothing, and promises of marriage. My brother was a smooth operator in Kindergarten).

We also did our Christmas cards today. Maybe if I get them in the mail tomorrow they'll actually arrive before Christmas.

I think I'm going to go and make myself some tea now. It's damned cold in here again. Before I go though, I just want to thank everyone who has signed my guestbook! You should all know that everytime I get a "Someone signed your guestbook!" email I do I little happy dance.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present