I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-11-28 - 7:39 pm�
They like me, they really, really like me

I've apparently been the subject of a great deal of the office gossip lately. It's come to my attention that most people are of the opinion that the office powers that be should not be letting me go. My coworkers think it's horrible to let me go because I know how to do so much in the office, and because they like me and think I'm smart. One of the admin assistants told me that it is a "travesty" that they aren't keeping me on. At least two different departments going over their budgets to see if they can snap me up for a little while longer.

I don't think anything will come of it-- I've been there long enough to know that the only department with any room in its employee budget right now is Accounting. I could probably have the part time accounting job that's open right now just for the asking, but there is just no way it would work out. I would not be a happy camper, and they would probably be really disappointed when they realised that my skills, as impressive as they apparently are, do not extend to math related stuff.

It feels good to be appreciated and well liked. It feels really good to know that I've such a positive impression at this job. I haven't liked everything about my time at this office-- there were plenty of days when I felt that I was in the lowest pits of hell-- but I think in the big picture the good easily outweighs the bad. I've gained so much confidence at this job. I've gotten over my fear of business telephone calls. I've met some great people; I don't think there is even one coworker that I don't get along with. I could use at least half a dozen of my coworkers as references in the future. I've enjoyed talking with the volunteers. I've felt I've helped some elderly people get through their day with a little more ease and security.

I've learned a new computer program, I've written and done layouts for two newsletters. I put together an training manual. I designed and did the layout, and wrote some of the new orientation guide.

Two and a half weeks-- that is about all I have left. I always knew that I wouldn't be at this job forever. Even as my coworkers believed I'd be around indefinitely, I always saw the end of my contract looming. Now though, now that it really is coming down to the wire I'm starting to get concerned about leaving.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present