I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-11-12 - 11:45 pm�
What makes Heather pissy, along with some of my usual boring ramblings.

In case anybody out there wants to know what really, really makes me pissy, I'll tell you about it now.

I hate it when people accuse me of pretending to be over 18, when I have in fact been 18 and over for 6 years. And I hate it when people tell me I look really, really young for my age. And I hate it when people tell me "when you're older you'll wish for the days when people thought you looked younger than you are."

No, I don't think I will long for those days, thank you very much. I look forward to getting wrinkle because maybe then I wouldn't have to deal with those dumbass comments.

Why should I think that being mistaken for someone 6 to 10 years younger than me is a compliment? Maybe, maybe it's a compliment if you are in your 40s or older. I can't know that for sure until I'm there myself. But I do know that it isn't a compliment when you're twenty-four. It's just embarassing.

So what prompted this rant? When I went to redeem my $3.00 winning Bingo scratch ticket today at the convenience store where I've bought lottery tickets on and off for oh, I don't know, the past 6 years, the clerk looks at me and says "Hey, are you even old enough to buy lottery tickets?" This pissed me off. It's just rude. I don't mind showing ID when asked (although I still would have been baffled if this guy who've I've bought lottery tickets off of before asked for ID). But this guy didn't ask.

If someone says to me, "Can I see some ID?" I say "sure." That's why I carry proof of my age around with me. I may get mildly annoyed at having to dig through my purse for my ID, but I don't get angry or offended.

I am offended however, when someone decides to go on a power trip about it, make it a challenge.

*****

Okay, that's enough of that. Not much to say this weekend. Things have been pretty quiet. I made finished making some Christmas tree ornaments. Aren't they cute?

The picture isn't the best... the reindeer and the bear scanned sort of dark, but I think the cuteness is still quite obvious, damnit!

Other than that, I watched a whole lot of tv today. I had to watch X-files an hour late because my brother wanted to watch Celebrity Who Wants to be a Millionaire. So my mother and I sat through the show, nervously wondering if the VCR was recording okay. It was actually causing us serious anxiety because the tv and vcr were doing some strange things. I think my mother would have screamed bloody murder if it hadn't taped. My mother is not a woman who normally yells at people. She's easy going and doesn't enjoy conflict, but I think if she had been deprived of X-Files she would have not been fun to live with until I could procure us a copy of it.

Oh well. Thankfully it taped just fine. And I must say that it rocked! It's been at least 2 or 3 seasons since I've enjoyed an episode as much as I did tonight's. Well okay, there may have been a couple of stand alone episodes in the past 2 or 3 seasons that I liked as much, but I certainly haven't liked a mythology episode this much since the beginning of season 5.

I was hoping to see some people online tonight to discuss it (Sarah and Katie I'm looking in your directions...). Sigh. Maybe you were online while I was still watching it.

What else do I have to say... Oh! Sarah! I like the new layout very much, although I miss the picture of my Mittens. But it is an extremely cool new look. And I'm so so glad that you are all okay after your ordeal yesterday. Repeat after me: "I will get fire insurance. Fire insurance is my friend."

And, ooo! I don't have to go to work tomorrow. Yay for me. I so need the day off after Friday's mind numbing, sucking-my-will-to-live kind of day at the office. I'm going to get my hair cut. I want to get it cut like Agent Scully's hair, but I don't think I'll have the guts to go in there and tell the stylist to please make me look like Agent Scully. I don't think my ego could stand the laughter that would surely ensue.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present