I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-11-09 - 7:29pm�
Queen of Small Talk

Today is a miserable day, weather-wise. It poured rain all day. I didn't even go out for lunch because it was so icky out. I sat in the office kitchen and read for an hour which wasn't nearly as bad as I thought it would be, although I did sort of miss getting out of the office.

The weather meant that I had lots to talk about with all the volunteers I talked to today.

Me: "Hey Herman, bet you weren't on the golf course today, eh?"

Volunteer: "You brought this on, didn't you, so I'd be around to do more drives for you!"

Me: "Hahaha. No, I didn't do this. It would have been a good plan though."

Volunteer: "This is just miserable weather!"

Me: "Could be worse though, this time of year we're just lucky that it's rain and not snow, right?"

Volunteer: "Yeah, at least we don't have to shovel this."

And so on and so forth.

I'm getting good at making small talk. I never used to be. Since I've started this job I've really improved my pointless conversation skills. I have a tendency to be the queen of awkward pauses. I think at some point in my life I decided to just stop trying to make small talk. It seemed so phony.

It's true; small talk is sort of phony. I discussed the weather with 10 different people today. I said almost the same things to all of them, and each of them said pretty much the same things to me. I didn't honestly care what anyone thought of the rain. It didn't make one ounce of difference in my day.

But I've learned that small talk, while phony on the surface, is not necessarily a bad thing. After you make a lot of small talk with someone you do tend to develop a rapport with them. That rapport is genuine and can be meaningful even though the conversation topics are inane. I've noticed that I the volunteers that I've taken the time to engage in small talk tend to do more for me and sound happier about it too.

So there you have Heather's helpful lesson for the day: Small talk is not altogether a bad thing.

And I have nothing more to say today.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present