I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-09-20 - 8:54 pm�
Pros and Cons, plus some pointless discussion of my new pants!

The pros of my new position as an Office Floater:

* Not one old person has had the opportunity to yell at me over the telephone all week.

* There is no more stress for me in the workplace.

* On Monday I got to use my creative skills to write and format a newsletter.

* I've gotten to know a lot more people in the office.

* Did I mention that old people haven't yelled at me all week?

The cons of my new position as Office Floater:

* I've lost that sense that I am accomplishing something important.

* I no longer get to sit in the comfy adjustible chair.

* I have been relegated to a computer so old that it can't run anything higher than Windows 3.1 (and it runs it pretty damned slowly at that).

* My job no longer reqires much decision or independent thought.

I spent the day formatting and typing out forms and checklists. The biggest decision I had to make today was what font to use on the forms. I went with the Arial 12pt. Crisp and clear, not too showy-- I stand by my choice.

As I sat there in my cubicle actually deliberating over something as trivial as fonts, I felt like a Dilbert cartoon. The one where Dogbert explains what business terms really mean. "We Empower Our Employees" actually means "We Allow Our Employees to Make Unimportant Decisions." The cartoon to go along with that one was Alice clutching a pen and proudly announcing, "I proclaim today to be green ink day!"

But at least I didn't have to deal with any cranky eldery people today. It's a fair trade off, right?

I went shopping tonight after work. I was on a quest for some big girl pants that are work appropriate. I wasn't particularly sucessful. I went to Zellers and then I was tired so I ended up just trying on a few pairs of their pants. I bought a pair of jade green velvety pants. I don't really own anything else like them, and I don't think I have much to wear with them. They're sort of funky... or tacky. I haven't quite decided yet. But they fit and they were fairly cheap. I didn't find any nice particularly professional looking pants. Then again, I was only looking in Zellers, so what the hell was I expecting?

(Oh, these pants are from a line of Zellers' clothing called Delta Blues. This would not be a particularly humiliating name for a line of plus-sized fashions, if it wasn't for the fact that the "Delta" in "Delta Blues" is named for Delta Burke. Sigh. It could be worse though. Pennington's once had a line of plus-sized clothing, they still might, named for Canada's own very large East Coast songstress, Rita MacNeil. Shudder.)

I also bought some DVDs today. Ah, DVDs... one size fits all. I got Edward Scissorhands for myself, and I lent the brother money for the T2 Special Edition set. Which means basically that I bought T2 Special Edition. Tom will pay me back though... eventually.

Hmmm... nothing more to say today.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present