I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-09-21 - 10:02 pm�
Word for the day: Efficient!

I am efficient.

Or so I was told today anyway.

Today was a good day. For totally inexplicable reasons I woke up in a good mood that I very easily maintained the whole day.

I didn't get to do anything terribly exciting at work today. Formatted and typed up some more volunteer information forms, took over the phones for about an hour and a half this afternoon, and finally, I cleaned out the bottom drawer of the filing cabinet. Whee Hoo! But somehow none of this bugged me today. I fraternized with my co-workers, I got to spend at least part of my day in a comfy chair, and I got to spend almost an hour sitting on the floor, which somehow pleases me.

While I was on the floor surrounded in files, one of my co-workers, the one and only male who works in the office, came over for a chat. He was eating a bag of chips and looked a little bored, so I just assumed he was coming over to make conversation and perhaps gently mock me for getting stuck with a menial clean-up job. He asked me all about my background, how long I'm contracted to this office, and what my future career plans are. I never have an answer to that last question and because I thought he was just making conversation I answered, "um... My career plans are to make a decent amount of money and keep myself out of the sun."

Well, as he finished off his chips and headed back to his office (I don't know what his actual job is, but it must be important because he gets an actual office with a door instead of a cubicle), he told me that there may be a permanent job coming up and he wants to consider me for it. He said he's been watching me, and he noticed that I picked up everything really fast (which I know I did), seemed really flexible (which I am), and that I was "amazingly efficient."

I don't think I've ever been called efficient before. In the workplace I've been called creative, organized, flexible, a quick learner and, more often than anything else, quiet. But I think I think I like it.

I am Heather, and I am efficient!

Cool.

Other good things from today: I got to talk with my favorite volunteer who said he's missed hearing "my sweet voice" this week. I love this man. He's 88, totally on the ball, has a wicked sense of humour, and he does a phenomenal amount of volunteer work every day. He's a wonder.

And, Oh! I rescued a buttload of telephone wire from the wastepaper baskets at work today! They were installing some new phones in the office and they were going to throw away all sorts of perfectly good telephone wire. Some people just don't have any creative foresight. I see this funky coloured wire sitting there in the garbage can and I see a hundred craft possibilities. When I was about 11 or 12, there was a girl in my class whose mother brought home a big whack of scrap wire from her job at Bell Canada. It became a fad at my school to make bracelets by twisting the telephone wire around itself. It was a short lived fad though. It pretty much ended when our supply of telephone wire ran out.

I'm going to use this found wire to make some funky joints and pendant loops for my jewelry.

My craft find today inspired to me to get moving and get some new stock together to send to the store. They keep asking me for new work, and I keep procrastining for no other reason than that I am lazy.

So that is all that is worth talking about for me today. Except to say that I am really happy that tomorrow is Friday. Wearing jeans to work does make the work day somehow more pleasant.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present