I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-09-14 - 10:08 pm�
By the way, it looks like we don't need you anymore.

My new layout is up and running... well, obviously.

Today was a strange and hideously bad day. Today marked the very sudden and unceremonious end to my days as a disgruntled scheduling clerk. Or at least, the probable end to my days as a disgruntled scheduling clerk. It's hard to say.

In case there is anyone reading this who is new to the saga of my employment situation, and really wants to be in the loop, here's a little background. I am employed by a temp agency to do various clerical assignments. Said temp agency assigned me to work at the office of a well known charity about 6 weeks ago. The original assignment was to work as a scheduling clerk while the regular clerk was away on sick leave, for approximately 2 and a half months, possibly longer.

Well guess what? The person I was filling in for decided to come back to work today! No warning, nothing. She just decides she wants to come back to work until her next treatment, which is in about 3 weeks. And guess what else? There isn't enough work for 2 people to do her job! Hell, I know that. On the slow days there is barely enough work for one person. What does this mean? This means that the big boss lady told me that I may as well not come in tomorrow.

Now that in itself is pretty much a slap in the face. By the time she decided that I wouldn't be needed tomorrow, it was too late to call my temp agency and tell them, making it certainly too late to get a new assignment for tomorrow. So I out at least one day's pay thanks to this sudden decision. The day's pay is not what I'm most upset about though. What really hurts is the total lack of consideration in telling me I won't be needed any more.

I know, I know. I'm a temp worker. It's pretty much the nature of temp work that you don't have any security. I can pretty much count on working nearly constantly, but I never know how long I'll be somewhere, or where I'll be next week.

But come on! They originally contracted me for 2 and a half months. And just 2 days ago there was a memo circulated around the office saying that I would be filling in for the next few weeks. Excuse me for feeling a false sense of security. Apparantly a lot can change in 2 days. Fuck!

Fuck fuckety fuck fuck fuck.

Pardon my language, but I am really angry about this. I have worked damned hard at this job. I cared about the work, and I worked hard. I was good at the job too. I know that for a fact. Hell, everyone in the office was telling me that everyday.

The nasty side of me, the side that is taking over tonight, says to me You were too good at the job, Heather. You made her nervous, and fearful for her job security. I don't know if it's true, but I have to wonder. Everyone was telling me how great it was that I could just slide right into this job with so little trouble. That I was doing an amazing job, especially considering how little training I was given. And I know that there were people telling her about how good I was too.

She had nothing to fear though! I was not trying to steal her job. My temp agency will find me a new job as soon as I tell them I want one. It's not an issue.

Here's what is an issue though-- They don't really want to get rid of me all together. They want me to come back in a few weeks when the regular clerk goes off for more medical treatments. It doesn't work that way! I'm not going to sit around and wait for that.

Tomorrow they are going to have a meeting and see if there is anywhere else in the office they can use me until they need me to go back to the scheduling clerk job. The only opening right now is in the accounting department, and if that is where they want to put me, I don't think I want to be there. I don't do accounting. My strengths are in communication. I don't do math-y stuff. I suck at it, and I don't like it. In any case, they are supposed to tell me tomorrow afternoon.

So first thing tomorrow morning I have to call my temp agency and tell them about all of this. And you know what? If they have another assignment for me, I'm taking it. I don't need this "wait and see" crap. Not when they only give me a hour's notice that they won't be needing me anymore. What the fuck? They didn't hire me to be part time casual work. They contracted me through a temp agency. There is no way they have any right to expect me to just wait around for them.

Right now my strongest emotion is anger. At this moment I do not under any circumstances want to return to that office. I might feel differently after I've cooled off though. I mean, I liked the job. I liked the people in the office, and I found the work somewhat rewarding (when I wasn't just silently cursing the old people for being nasty to me). I think I'll probably miss this job in the long run, even though right now I don't want to go anywhere near the office ever again.

And this might very well be my longest diary entry ever! Today is a good day to have a diary. I needed someplace where I could just rant.

Song of the day (quote of the day isn't good enough, the whole song applies): "Why does it always rain on me?" --Travis

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present