I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-09-12 - 7:16 pm�
Memories, sweet, sweet memories

Well, whatever was wrong with me yesterday seems to be passing. I still don't feel at my best but I'm feeling much better now. :)

I did go into work today, although I was debating it right up until the last minute. I was legitimately sick, but I felt so guilty about taking a day off. I really need to remember this when I start feeling like I haven't really changed, haven't really grown up. When I was in high school I stayed home all the time. Sure, I was sick to some degree every day I stayed home, but there were a lot of days where I could have gone to school but didn't. There were some days like that in University too, but not as many. That's when I started feeling the whole responsibility thing setting in. By the time I started working the guilt about missing a day had begun to set in.

I was filing away the office copies of the volunteer expense reports today and the smell of the yellow carbon copy paper made me all nostalgic. I think I actually spent a minute or so sitting in my cubicle sniffing the pile of paper wistfully. I'm such a tool. But it reminded me of my old job today, the one I had when I was in University, as a junior office clerk for the Paramedic Program. I loved that job. I didn't love it everyday, especially not at first, but most of the time it was a good job. The people were amazing, and I got a lot of great experience. The pay sucked, but I felt needed there, appreciated. It's been about a year and a half since I left that job, but there are still moments when I feel like I'm just on vacation from it and will be going back there soon to find a great big stack of call report charts on my desk.

Everyone but me hated sorting and filing those things so it became my job permanently. I thought it was one of the coolest parts of my job. It was a mindless job. I could sort and listen to music or plot out essays or think about The X-files. And the charts themselves were so interesting. I know that's a little morbid, being intrigued by other people's medical emergencies, but it was like reading about the kind of stuff everybody watches every week on ER. My favorite charts were the ones that detailed calls to domestic dispute injuries. There were quite a few of those, and the "describe the event" sections were usually pretty funny. The paramedics had to try to be diplomatic and impartial about every situation and some of them were better at it than others.

We didn't keep the originals, the hospitals got those, we got the yellow copies. My hands always smelled of the carbon paper chemicals after I was done. I associate that smell with that job, and when I smelled it on the expense forms today it brought back warm and fuzzy feelings.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present