I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-09-09 - 9:48pm�
Dancing Queen

I just finished watching Drop Dead Gorgeous, which I must say is a smart movie, and a pretty funny one too.

I'm ashamed to say it, but when I was little I always thought it would be neat to be in a beauty pagaent. I liked dressing up, and I liked it when people told me I was pretty. I'm just really glad that mom refused to even consider letting me do something like that. But I did always think it would be fun. And I even had something to do in the talent portion: Just like the lead character in the movie I watched tonight, I could tap dance.

That's right, I know how to tap dance. Or at least, I used to. I bet I still could though. I still remember all the main steps.

I took my first dance lesson when I was four. At that point it was ballet lessons. The thought of wearing ballet slippers and a tutu was extremely appealing to me. I wanted to be just like my Ballerina Barbie doll.

I was a cute little thing, wasn't I? And I certainly knew how to play to Mom and her camera.

Sometime during my first year of ballet classes I saw some other students who were doing something that looked much more interesting. They got to dance in noisy shoes, which was even more appealing to four year me than being a ballerina was. So the next year mom enrolled me in tap dancing lessons too. I only lasted one more year in ballet after that. It just paled in comparison to tap dancing. In tap class we not only got to dance in noisy shoes, but we got to dance to pop music and wear leotards with spangles on them. And spangles are much cooler than tutus. No really! Trust me.

See how cool I was? I think I was about seven or eight years old there.

I loved tap class. I went every Saturday from the time I was six until I was twelve. I wish I could remember why I quit. All I remember is that it wasn't fun anymore, which I suppose is a good reason. It was supposed to be fun, and if it wasn't, what was the point in doing it? I don't remember why it wasn't fun anymore though. It had been fun for six years, but all of a sudden it just wasn't anymore.

I remember a lot of details from my tap dancing days so clearly-- the names of the other girls in my class, all the songs I tapped to in the yearly recitals, but I can't for the life of me remember something as big as why it stopped being fun. Memory is a funny thing.

******

Webpage rant update:

Well, I think I know what the problem is with my websites. I was able to log into my site tonight, and even load up the main page. Most of my pictures wouldn't load up, and the links didn't work, but at least I know xoom didn't take down my site or something.

There was a new banner at the top of the page too. Instead of the little xoom.com logo there was a nbci logo. So I guess the problems can be traced to switch overs because of a merger. Hopefully everything will be up and running again soon. Still, I think I'm going to start looking around for a new free homepage provider. Hopefully a small, friendly one. That nbc logo at the top of my homepage frightens me a little.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present