I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-09-09 - 6:00pm�
Ranting about website troubles

I just spent a couple of hours scanning pictures and working on the webpage I maintain for Textures, the craft co-op store that I belong to. I just tried to upload my updates to the site and got hit with a "permission denied" message on my ftp. WTF???? So I tried to load up the website in Internet Explorer. And what exactly showed up? A 403 error. That would be the "Forbidden: you may not open this file from your server" message. And I repeat, WTF????

I then tried to load up my personal webpage, which happens to be hosted by the same webserver. Once again, I am "forbidden" to open it. Why, I ask you? Why? Why? Why? There is not a damn thing that is illegal or in violation of the terms of service on either the Textures page, or my own page. Especially the Textures page-- I designed the graphics and scanned all of the pictures myself. None of the images used are the property of anyone but myself and the other artisans of the store. So what the hell is the problem?

At least I have copies of everything. I suppose this is what I get for using a free webpage provider. Fuck xoom.com! Nothing is really free, right? But it's going to be such a hassle to move everything, especially where the store's site is concerned. They'll have to print up new business cards with the new website on it, and we can't really afford that. It's a non-profit store. We can't really afford to pay for a real webspace either. The only reason we have a site at all is because I donate my time and energy to it. I don't really want to have to donate webprovider and domain name costs to it as well just so we can have a webpage.

Sigh.

This is such a pointless entry, but I need to vent my anger somewhere and none of my friends are online to rant to.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present