I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-08-30 - 10:01pm�
Strange things are afoot at the soda shop

Okay, a strange thing happened to me today. At least, I think it was strange... I might possibly be making way too much out of this, but it feels strange to me, and Sarah confirmed, that yes, it sounds a little strange. By the way, thank you for that, Sarah.

So, the guy from cute little soda shop that I frequent gave me lunch for free today. He sat with me at a table in an empty part of the restaurant, and we ate together. We talked, as we normally do, except that today he kept making cheesy comments like "It's not often I get to have lunch with a beautiful woman." Groan. And then at the end he put his hand on my arm and said "Thanks for coming in today, it's always so nice to talk with you." Okay, the semtiment isn't new, but the physical contact sure as hell is.

Oh, did I mention that last time I was in he said I was "cute"? At the time I thought that was just one of those things that older adults say to me. I'm often told I'm "cute" when people really mean to say "gosh, you look awfully young for your age." But after today, I think it sounds somewhat creepy.

Okay, so this is probably nothing... it didn't feel creepy as it was happening. I was just sort of struck with a feeling of "wait a minute, what's happening here?" I'm probably just interpreting way more into this than I should. After all, the guy is like close to 20 years older than me. And I think he's married.

Of course, that all makes this much worse if he really was seriously trying to send some signals to me... I refuse to be "that woman."

Ugh! I don't know, I don't know... I've been going in there all the time for months now. Pretty much since he opened. I like ice cream, okay? So sue me. And his business is not really booming, so the place is usually pretty empty when I go it. So we talk. We compared out of work stories for a while, and lately we've been comparing mean elderly people stories. He's a nice guy. At least, I think he is.

As I told Sarah, I really don't want to feel uncomfortable about this. Now what the hell am I going to do on my lunch hours?

Besides, I'll really nice the Ice Cream Floats and Chocolate Sodas.

Sigh. I need some pie.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present