I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-08-29 - 7:48pm�
Crusty Heather

I don't want to talk about work today. It wasn't good. Slightly better than yesterday, but along those lines. I don't know what's with the elderly this week, but they sure are crusty.

I'm feeling sort of crusty myself. And I still feel sort of dazed and out of it from my headache yesterday. Which pretty much adds up to putting me in a weird mood today. Dazed and crusty.

So what should I talk about instead? Let's see... I went out and bought some stuff at the drug store after work. I bought some new anti-perspirant. See, this past year I've been have a problem with deodorants/antiperspirants. Around February, I developed a very sudden allergic reaction to the anti-perspirant I had been using for years. So I switched to deodorant without any aluminum, scent, or colouring. That solved the problem, and worked quite well up until recently. The deodorant, while thankfully doing away with body odour, just doesn't do much for stopping the actual sweat. So I'm trying the antiperspirant again. With any luck last February's reaction was an isolated instance. I'm hoping that I don't have to chose between pit stains and underarm rashes, because that's just not a decision I feel up to making right now.

I also bought some hairspray. I've been without it for a while now, but my hair just won't do anything in this weather. I have really thick hair which really doesn't cooperate with humid weather. For the last two weeks I've been wearing hairbands or barrettes to keep it out of my face. Today I caught a glimpse of myself in the barrettes, and was annoyed to realise that I looked about twelve years old. That's when I made decided it was time for some hairspray so I could try to give myself a grown up hair do. The irony here is that when I was twelve I never wore barrettes and went through hairspray like it was going out of style. I didn't feel I was having a good hair day unless my hair was big, and completely frozen in place. Of course, that was back in the late eighties when I also thought I was stylin' in my huge plastic earrings and blue eyeshadow.

I just have to say that everyone should go and read Waiting for Bob today. It's funny because it's true (gratuitous Simpsons quote for the day). I am dreading the fact that I'm going to have to go shopping for some fall pants soon. Even though I do have a few stylish options for plus size shopping around here, nothing erodes my body image comfidence like having to browse through a rack of pants with the label "Encore Sizes!" glaring at me from the top of the rack. Right now I have clothes from such fun lines as CG Plus, Plus Preferred, Image, Encore, and my personal favorite, Big and Beautiful! Please, it doesn't matter how politically correct they try to make the name, it doesn't really hide the fact that they are making divisions in their stock based on size. The clothing manufacturers have decided that everything over, say a size 14 is too big and needs to be labelled as such. They might as well just label them "Hey, Fat Girl! Buy these pants because you don't have much more to choose from!"

Do I sound bitter today? I warned you that I was in a crusty mood. So I think that I'll end this entry with song angry girl lyrics.

Song Lyrics of the Day:

maybe you don't like your job
maybe you didn't get enough sleep
well, nobody likes their job
nobody got enough sleep
maybe you just had
the worst day of your life
but, you know, there's no escape
and there's no excuse
so just suck up and be nice

---"Pixie" Ani Difranco

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present