I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-08-06 - 17:28:28�
Nothing to Say, but I'll say it anyway

When I started this diary I was under no delusions that I could one day look back on it and say, wow, my life was pretty interesting. I did sort of hope that I could look back on it and think, wow, I may have had no life, but at least I was expressing some interesting thoughts.

I think some of my diary entries are interesting, maybe even (dare to dream) insightful, but somedays I honestly have nothing much to say. Today is one of those days. So why am I even bothering to update my diary at all?

Couple of reasons. The first is that I didn't update yesterday, and considering how often I have been updating, it would just feel weird to go too long without saying something. The other reason is that it seems that this is the place I seem to be able to write much of anything these days.

I consider myself to be an amateur writer (hey, who doesn't, right?). I'm a fairly lazy and unmotivated amateur writer though. I don't think I could ever write a novel, simply because I would get too bored and discouraged long before I finished. I can barely finish a short story. I've got at least a dozen short stories in various stages of completion sitting on my hard drive right now. I only have about half a dozen stories that I would consider to be 100% complete and to my liking. Well, there are a few more than that if I consider the fanfic, but I don't really. That's separate.

Still, even though I am really bad at finishing the stories I start, I still feel like I've accomplished something if I can write at least couple of paragraphs of something a day. If I can work a bit on a short story, a piece of fanfic, or my very long from finished novel (more likely a novella, if I even get that far), then I feel like I'm on my way to improving myself as a writer.

It's been a couple of weeks since I managed to do that. But if I can at least spit out some words into diaryland every day, I do feel a little better. At least I'm writing something, right?

This really was a rambly entry. I think it's got to be painfully obvious by now that I don't plan out my entries before I type them...

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present