I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-08-05 - 12:11 am�
Nurturing my inner "You GO Girl"

I went shopping today, and as I often like to do, I stopped into one of those "new age" stores with lots of candles and aromatherapy stuff. So sue me, I enjoy things that smell pretty. Get me into one of those stores and I'm sniffing everything in sight, just like an out of control dog.

So I'm smelling a very lovely mint scented candle when I notice (actually, it was pointed out to me, but there is no need to pick apart the finer details) a line of Grrl Power candles. The label said that they were specially designed for "you" to nurture and enhance the moods and emotions that "you" are feeling, which was somehow supposed to lead to "your empowerment." Uh huh. Sure. I was already rolling my eyes at this point, and I hadn't even looked at the candles, which were specially named after these moods and emotions that they were each supposed to enhance and nurture.

I don't remember all the names of the emotions/candles, but I do remember the one that annoyed me the most, and that would be the "You GO Girl!" candles. Since when is "You GO Girl!" a mood? I can't say that I've ever answered "I'm feeling pretty You GO Girl! today" to the question of "How are you feeling today, Heather?"

I think what bothers me about this particular line of female empowerment marketing, is that it is so artifical. The people who designed these products, and others like them, don't actually consider how a woman feels, or what might actually be a source of empowerment to her. No, they invent some sunny catchphrases, and we are supposed to feel strong and important for buying into them.

I might have bought these candles if they were designed to nurture my real feelings. If I looked at a women-empowerment-aromatherapy candle that was designed to make me feel better during my PMS days, I might buy it. I might not, but at least I would consider it, because it would be trying to sell me on concepts and feelings that are real to me, and not manufactured.

I did however, buy the lovely mint scented candle, which didn't claim to do anything but burn and smell minty. And I am pleased to say that it lived up to all its promises.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present