I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-08-03 - 6:15pm�
I need some friends.

I feel sooooo smart now. As you may notice, I just figured out how to add a background picture to my diary! Html is more than a little daunting to me, so I do feel that I've accomplished something. I made the background image myself from a scanned picture of one of my beads.

*****

I really need to make some new friends. With Sarah moving away, I am going to be left more or less without any friends nearby. I do have a couple of friends that I haven't talked to in a while that I suppose I could ty to get in touch with again. I've been sort of reluctant to call them though, because it's "their turn" to get in touch with me. That sounds so petty. I know friendship is something that both parties need to work on. The problem is, with these particular friends, I feel that the lapse in the relationship is due to a lack of effort on their part. I've made the last few attempts to keep in touch, to stay friends, and they have made no similar efforts. In one case, I even left a couple of messages, two on an answering machine, another through email, and I have not heard any response.

This makes me start to feel that I should just take the hint and give it up. I've always had a problem with confidence in myself when it coems to friendships. If I feel like I am the only one making an effort, it must mean that the other person doesn't really care about me. I have learned that isn't always the case, but it still sort of rubs me the wrong way to feel like I'm not getting as good as I'm giving in any relationship.

I like to think that I am a good friend, and I tend to expect that other people will treat me the same as I treat them. If they don't, I find myself resenting the friendship, and the friend.

But I think I probably should make another effort with some of these people, otherwise I am going to be pretty lonely soon. Unless I can figure out where I can make some new friends. That is sort of hard to do in my situation. How do people meet new friends? I've always done it through school and work, but I am not in school anymore, and because I'm doing temp work right now, I'm not really working anywhere long enough to make friends. If anyone has any suggestions, please feel free to email me.

Maybe I should join some sort of club. I wonder if there is a polymer clay group in the area. Or maybe an amateur writer's group.

Thank goodness for my internet friends. At least I know I always have people to talk to, even if it isn't face to face.

*****

I learned a nifty new word this week, and I know that if I don't write it down, I'm going to forget it. So...

Nictitate: to blink ones eyelids rapidly

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present