I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-08-01 - 6:24pm�
I should read books more often.

I took advantage of having the day off today to actually do some reading. I read quite a bit on a daily basis, but it's been a while since I've just spent an afternoon lying on my bed and reading from a book. I need to do that more. Books are good. It's a much more tactile experience to read from a book than it is to read from a computer screen. You get hold a book, feel its pages, smell the ink and the bleached pages.

Getting into the habit of reading primarily off of the internet has done horrible things to my attention span though. When I get online, all I do is read. I read short things: online news, usenet, email, diaryland, and fanfiction. Short, compact spurts of reading. If something is boring, at least I didn't invest much time in it. If something is too boring to finish, I can just click my way to something new.

I've been having trouble reading entire novels lately. That just seems like too big of a commitment. But I do manage to get my literary fix by reading short stories. I am working my way though 3 short fiction anthologies right now. One by Alice Munro, one by Margaret Atwood, and another entitled "Short Stories by Canadian Women." The last one is my favorite. It's such a diverse collection of stories by a lot of authors I've never heard of before.

*****

What else to talk about today... hmm. I have a new temp assignment lined up. It is going to start in on the 14th and it is supposed to last a couple of months. Doesn't sound like a bad gig either-- Scheduling Clerk for a local branch of a national charity. I'll be talking to clients and workers and volunteers, scheduling appointments and doing some data entry and filing.

They offered me another assignment too, a short one for the rest of this week. It was another nothing but data entry sort of thing. I turned it down. I probably shouldn't have, because I could use the money, but I didn't think I could take anymore mind numbing data entry so soon after that last assignment. This one could have been a totally different experience, seeing as it was with a different company where hopefully the people would be a little nicer, but that last data entry job left a bad taste in my mouth.

*****

Before I go, I want to say thanks to Katie for saying stuff in her diary today that made me feel good. Katie is a *good person* too, and hope she doesn't ever forget that.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present