I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-08-02 - 4:43 pm�
Tornado warnings

What to write about, what to write about...

Severe weather warnings all day today. They've been calling for thunderstorms and possibly even tornados. It's got everyone worried, especially seeing as this city was hit by a tornado about 16 years ago that did some major damage and killed eight people. So the general population of Barrie gets understandably freaked out at the mere mention of the word "tornado."

I wasn't living here when the tornado hit, but I remember it well enough. I was 8 years old. It was grocery shopping day. I was in the supermarket with my parents and my brother when the power went out. We were a long way from the tornado; it didn't come anywhere near our city, but the winds were still strong enough to cause problems to a lot of the province.

Everyone had to leave the supermarket, because no one's purchases could be rung through without power to the cash registers. This upset me, because I had been promised a treat from the bulk candy aisle and I didn't get to have it.

We got into the car and began driving, looking for a grocery store that did have power. After driving around for a while and finding our entire end of the city without power, my parents started to wonder what was up. My mom turned on the radio. I could tell that my mom was a little worried, but I thought we were on an adventure. We kept driving, giving up on finding a supermarket (our power was out at home too, so we wouldn't have had much luck cooking), and started looking for a restaraunt. We drove clear across town before we found an area that still had power. I think it was while we were eating our fish and chips that we finally heard a news report telling that a tornado had hit Barrie. I remember feeling sort of removed from the newsreport. My first thought was of my grandparents and other relatives living in Barrie, but I don't think I really believed that it could be real, that anything could have happened to them.

They were alright. The tornado demolished a good portion of the south end of town, but it hadn't even touched the area where all my relatives were situated. I watched the all the news stories about it on tv that night, and that was the first time I realised that the tornado was real, that it was scary, and I felt bad for not being more worried about it during dinner.

I'm not particularly worried about there being a tornado today. The sky looks too blue, and the winds are too soft and breezy. I'm still considering going down to the beach tonight. I don't want to tempt fate, but I have my heart set on going swimming, and it really, really does not look too menacing out there.

I don't know what else to write about today. It's been such a quiet, uneventful day for me. Not that I'm complaining... I just wish I had something more interesting to talk about.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present