I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-07-31 - 8:25pm�
Pettiness

The crappy temp job ended today. Hurrah! I managed to contain myself, and made it into the washroom before I did a little happy dance.

The day went pretty much typically. I was greeted by two people asking me what I was doing back at the office. Wasn't Friday my last day? They really know how to make a person feel welcome there.

My fingernails are green and shiny today. I don't think the people at the office really approved of that. I got a few weird glances down at my hands today. I was pretty much expecting it, I was probably even going for it. A silent rebellion of sorts.

I wonder if they are petty enough to note that on my employee evaluation form. I can see it now:

"Employee wasted time in double checking her work. We were also disapointed to find that she could not read our minds, and entered our mistakes into the database as they appeared on the page rather than how we intended them. Most disappointing, however, was the fact that she showed up to work on Monday with green fingernails and her hair carelessly flung into a half-assed attempt at a bun. We like our employeed to be drab and well coifed at all times."

Nah, they probably wouldn't do that. They are unfriendly and a little strange, but I have no proof that they are petty too. Maybe I'm the petty one, not them. If I got the chance to write an evaluation on then it might read:

"The whole office had a funny smell. Coworkers didn't smile, and no one ever thought to ask me how I was doing. Most people didn't even bother to learn my name. No one showed me where the printer paper and extra pens were kept. The office was unorganized, and the employees did not have the proper work prepared for my arrival. They only had powdered non-diary creamer available for the already gross coffee."

I wouldn't ever actually say any of that to my temp agency. When they ask me how the assignment went, I won't tell them that the people made me feel uncomfortable and I wanted out every day I was there. I won't tell them that I worried whether or not the people at the office thought I was capable.

Even though I've pretty much gotten over losing sleep over whether or not people like me, there is still a little voice in my head urging me to fit in, to be well-liked. Silly girl, it tells me, don't make waves. Tow the line, blend in with the furniture.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present