I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-07-29 - 10:48 pm�
Saturday afternoon TV and Japanese food

Well I feel sort of foolish... I made a request here a few days ago to hear from anyone who reads this regularly, and I just discovered that I don't have the "accept mail from internet" thingy activated. I'd fix that, but I'm not really all that sure how. So if anyone does feel the inclination to drop me a line, just send it directly to [email protected].

Okay, now onto the actual entry for the day. I had another lazy Saturday. This is becoming a habit for me. I spent most of the day in front of the tv and my computer. I watched part of "Honey, I shrunk the kids" which isn't all that bad of a movie.

After that I watched an interview with Jann Arden on Muchmoremusic. I wish I enjoyed her music more. I really, really want to like music, just because I like *her* so much. She has so many interesting and clever things to say. And I love her attitudes about her weight. It is nice to see a big woman in amongst all the willowly teeny bopper pop stars these days. She is very down to earth, and has a great sense of humour! I wish she would put more of that into her songswriting.

Then I watched a special called "The Golden Age of Rock and Roll" that featured classic tv performances of 50s and 60s Soul and R&B artists. I love Motown from that era, so I was in tv viewing heaven. The songs are fun, and the choregraphy amuses me to no end, particularly with The Temptations. Great stuff. I am always struck by the juxtaposition of the performers and the studio audience at these music television shows of the late 50s and early 60s though. I think alot of the music clips were from a show called "Shindig." This show featured all sorts of black musicians, but all the kids dancing around them in the studio were clean cut white kids. Interesting politics at work there.

And who says you don't think when you watch television?

I did actually go out today though. Went out for dinner with my brother and Sarah and her boyfriend Craig. Sarah and Craig are moving out of town soon, so we all wanted to get together and go out for Japanese one last time before they moved away. Sniffle, sniffle... I promised myself I wouldn't cry... No, I'm not in crying mode about them leaving. Not yet anyway...

It was a good night. Good friends, good conversation, and damn good food. We walked along the waterfront and sat by the beach after dinner. That was nice too, except for the mosquitos. Mosquitos seem to have a weird attraction to me. It's not pleasant.

It is still far too hot for my liking today. Damned summer....

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present