I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-07-21 - 8:00 pm�
Do I dare disturb the universe?

Last day at my temp job today. They took me out for lunch, their treat, and didn't even care that we spent almost 2 hours at the restaurant on their time. Have I mentioned before that I really like these people? I hope my next temp assignment will be half as nice.

I hope I get a new assignment soon. I'm not burnt out at all yet (it would be really sad if I was, seeing as I've only been working again for less than 3 weeks). So I don't want to be sitting around on my ass for too long.

*****

We are having such a mild summer here in South Central Ontario! I had to wear my jacket out again today. It doesn't feel like late July, more like early May. Everybody is complaining about the weather. Sometimes I join in with them, just because hey, it's only idle conversation. Who doesn't like to talk about the weather? But really, I love this cool weather. I can go for a walk without turning into a sweaty pig, it's wonderful weather for sleeping, and I seeing as I am rarely wearing shorts I don't have to shave my legs very often.

****

I didn't see that creepy guy on the bus home today. I was talking about the incident with a friend of mine and I realized why it upset me so much, or at least part of the reason. I have always sort of had this paranoia that other people are looking at me and judging me or laughing at me behind my back or whatever. Even though for the most part I have developed a fairly strong attitude of "why should I give a shit about what other people think of me", I still have remnants of insecurities from my younger days when I was not so confident about myself.

So seeing this guy staring at me, and *drawing* me, just plays right into that paranoia. This guy really is staring at me, so it brings up the idea that my paranoia could actually be founded. Maybe people are looking at me, judging me for what they see.

But then I think, so what are if they are? Screw them. But I do sort of care. When I think people are looking at me it makes me self conscious. I start acting differently, more reserved. I've got the whole J. Alfred Prufrock complex:

And I have known the eyes already, known them all�
The eyes that fix you in a formulated phrase,
And when I am formulated, sprawling on a pin,
When I am pinned and wriggling on the wall,
Then how should I begin
To spit out all the butt-ends of my days and ways?
And how should I presume?

That is one of the few poems that I can honestly say that I enjoy. For a former English major I really don't like that much poetry. But that poem just speaks to all my doubts and insecurities about my place in the world.

Gee, that's the first time I've referenced something more than pop culture here in Diaryland. Yay me. :)

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present