I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2000-07-03 - 23:35:16�
Sparkle, sparkle!

I have sparkly toenails. :)

It's funny how I can be such a girly-girl about some things, because generally I don't consider myself to be too girly. I rarely wear dresses, and when I wear makeup I just wear a little-- lipstick and eyeliner, that's about it. I don't know how to bat my eyelashes. I'm not giggly. And I'm certainly no good at playing stupid.

But when it comes to nailpolish I am such the girl. Nailpolish is one of my big weaknesses. I have polish in every colour of the rainbow, and I have 6 or 7 bottles of sparkly stuff. For some reason having bright, sparkly nails makes me feel happy.

I'm just generally big on sparkles. I have sparkle gel that I smear over my face and arms whenever I go out to concerts. I don't know what the appeal is, but somehow it puts me in a good mood when I make myself glittery. And I just bought this really neat spray-on shimmery moisturizer. It gives me a very subtle sparkle. I think I'll make those my everyday sparkles. :)

When I was younger I used to want to be really frilly and girlish. When I was in junior high I spent forever on my hair, I dressed in pastels, and I wore a lot of makeup. There was such a pressure to be popular back then, and in order to be popular you had to look pretty. I really wanted to be popular and pretty (what is really ironic looking back on it, is that I probably would have hated being popular, because I really like just having a small group of friends). I spent years pouring over fashion magazines, and trying out new hair and makeup tricks. For the most part I enjoyed it. It was fun most of the time. But... I was forever annoyed with the fact that my hair never stayed in place like the magazines said it would. I tried to wear mascara even though it made my eyelashes push up against my glasses and looked completely ridiculous. And I wondered endlessly why the tips given in the "cover your problem areas" clothing layouts never seemed work for me. It took me a while to realise that the models they used in those layouts didn't actually have any problem areas...

When I started high school, I came to the realisation that there was no way in hell that I could ever live up to the standards in those magazines, or ever be "pretty" enough to be "popular," I abandonned the magazines, and decided that I wouldn't be upset with myself for dressing comfortably rather than fashionably. I pretty much stopped wearing makeup too. It took a very long time for me to be totally comfortable with that attitude. I don't think I really starting feeling ok about the way I look until I got to University. It was around that time too, that I realised that there were some fun things about being girly. Like wearing nail polish and sparkles.

My, this is a rambly diary entry! I think the moral of the story is that when I do girly things now, like wearing sparkles, I'm doing them for myself and no one else. I think if I had realised that sooner, I would have been a lot happier when I was growing up.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present