I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-06-26 - 9:50 p.m.�
Work sucks again

I am getting so frustrated with my job lately. My volunteers keep cancelling out on me left, right and centre. It's getting really difficult.

Because it is summer, a whole lot of my volunteers are taking time off. They are volunteers and they are perfectly entitled to time off. More than that, they deserve time off. They are among the small fragment of society that donates large quantities of their time to help others. The problem is though, that I don't have anyone to replace them when they take time off.

At the same time, because it is summer, a lot of my clients are feeling like the want to go out more often. They are scheduling doctor's appointments that they've been putting off all winter. They want to go out socially too, and they are very disappointed when I tell them they can't go. We also seem to get more people looking for Meal delivery in the summer. They don't want to heat up their apartments by using the stuff, I guess.

And less volunteers + more service requests means that I'm turning down more and more client requests everyday. Which leads to more and more clients yelling at me, or crying to me. Which leads to me begging my remaining volunteers to take on extra work. Which leads to them getting burnt out and taking more time off. Which turns this into a vicious circle.

And that just makes me stressed out and cranky. I'm so tired, and I don't want to go work anymore. I want to sleep in late, watch dvds, and eat ice cream in my pajamas.

The only thing I'm looking forward to about work tomorrow at all is the air conditioning.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present