I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-10-09 - 10:50 p.m.�
Tomato juice, nerdish leanings, and more candle holders than you can shake a stick at!

I wrote an entry last night, to have Internet Explorer and/or Diaryland to eat it on me. I decided not to rewrite it not only because I was way too tired, but also because it was a pretty damned pointless entry.

Don't worry though, you aren't missing out on anything. I'm sure tonight's entry will be at least as pointless.

Work has been pretty good this week. My coworker is on vacation which usually spells great gobs of stress for Heather.When she goes on vacation I get to do her job and my job, every time she has gone on vacation up until now there has been some disaster in her area of the job, calling for my immediate attention.

I've been waiting and waiting for the inevitable doom, but so far it's been quiet. Not quiet enough for me to let my guard down, but I've still been enjoying myself. Living in a constant state of fear is kind of exciting!

I was gifted today at work by one of my volunteers. Exactly what was I given, you ask? Hold on to your hats-- A jumbo sized can of tomato juice! It's hard to muster up a great deal of thanks when someone hands you a family sized can of tomato juice and says 'Happy Thanksgiving." There is mostly just awkward surprise.

The guy has a friend who works at the Heinz plant where the tomato juice is canned, and he gave him two cases of the stuff. He can't use that much tomato juice, so he thought he'd spread the wealth, and share it with the myself, and the other volunteer services employees. Granted, he did realize the strangeness of the gift, and said, "People drink tomato juice on Thanksgiving, don't they? Or am I the only one?"

My family does sometimes have tomato juice with Thanksgiving dinner, and I assured him of this.

I plan on mixing it with vodka and making it a very Happy Thanksgiving.

As if that weren't excitement enough, I also got a new toy today! I went to Burger King with a couple of coworkers and I bought one of the new Simpsons Halloween kid's meal toys. I found my little plastic Marge Simpson to be very exciting. My coworkers, both females around my age, seemed to think that I'm a little weird. Sometimes I forget that I'm a big geek, but sooner or later something always comes along to remind me that I am powerfully uncool. Oh well. I'm okay with my nerdish leanings.

Other exciting news...hmm...

Oh! I used the pottery wheel again on Monday and I made 5 things that more or less worked out! I made one small vase-type thing and 4 bowl-like things. Little containers... I don't know what I'll use them for. Candle Holders, maybe? I'll have more candle holders than surfaces to put them on by the time I'm finished with this class. I hope they don't all crack before they are glazed and fired... or after they are glazed and fired for that matter.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Etta James

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present