I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-07-08 - 9:12 p.m.�
Religious nuts, mostly

Hi. I'm back from Toronto. I had a good time, naturally; I would have been surprised if I hadn't, because not only do I get to see Sarah, Toronto is just a fun place to be. There all always all sorts of freaks around to keep things interesting.

Geez, I sound like such a slack-jawed yokel, but it's true! On Friday evening while we were sitting in a restaraunt eating pizza, we saw a guy in a white robe lugging a huge wooden cross on his back, a la Jesus. (When I told my brother, he was disappointed that I didn't ask for an autograph, because hey, you never know. If it had really been Christ I could have auctioned the autograph off on Ebay and made a bundle.) This guy was certainly the most interesting religious nut I've ever seen. Even more interesting than the man and woman with clown makeup who were wearing T-Shirts with scripture on them and handing out tracts. Clowns for Christ, I'm guessing?

I hope I'm not offending anyone, but I seriously do wonder what could make someone go out in public and do strange things like that. Because it's more than just unshakable faith. It's complete and total faith mixed with some sort of bizarre exhibitionist tendencies, perhaps? I don't know. Maybe they are just keen marketing geniuses and know that you have to do something unique and flashy to get people to notice you.

Where was I? Oh yes. I had a good time in Toronto. Sarah and I caught some of the Celebrate Toronto street festival on Saturday. We saw Tanglefoot, who are always entertaining. And then it started to rain, and got very chilly, so we took refuge in Chapters for a few hours. I bought a really nifty book called Jim Henson's Designs and Doodles. It features, fittingly enough, sketches and conceptual drawings of Henson's early work. I sat in the bookstore, read most of the book, and decided that it just had to come home with me. It happens.

On Saturday evening I realized that I hadn't taken any pictures the whole weekend, even though I did bring my camera for that very purpose. So sadly, there are no images to accompany this entry. It's probably just as well though, considering I still haven't put up my illustrated adventure in Buffalo/Niagara Falls entry. Tomorrow, I'll do it tomorrow. Yeah, that's the ticket.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present