I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2003-05-25 - 8:45 p.m.�
Stupid computer problems

Just last week I was thinking that I don't spend that much time on my computer anymore, and that I really don't depend on it too much these days.

I was very wrong because I have spent this past week without my computer, and was practically climbing the walls.

On Monday morning I attempted to turn on my computer and got... nothing. Monday was a holiday so there was nothing I could do about it then. Tuesday I had to work, so I couldn't get it anywhere to be fixed until that afternoon. I got it back Thursday evening, complete with a new motherboard, processor, modem and case. It cost me way more money than I really wanted to spend... not that I wanted to spend anything on my computer, but I was happy enough to get it back and learn that I hadn't lost any files on my hard drive. Thursday evening I had to go out and run some errands, so I didn't get a chance to hook it up until about 10 at night.

That's when I find that it is not recognizing the modem. Yay.

Several angry phone calls later, the service people agree that it was likely their fault because the onboard modem they put in is sometimes faulty, and therefore up to them to replace it under warranty. I take the computer in again on Saturday morning, pick it up in the evening and find that while the modem is now working, I still can't connect to the internet. I would connect, and then get that lovely "the number you have dialed does not respond to your network request."

At this point on Saturday night, the tech support at my internet service is closed.

Finally, this morning around 11:00, everything was conclusively solved and I have both computer and internet service in fine working order. $287.00 and 7 friggin' days without computer and internet.

Not fun.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present