I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-04-29 - 8:19 p.m.�
Wherein I ramble about shitty X-files, the fabulous Sarah Slean show, my sad desk putting together skills, and work.

I just watched last night's X-files. Why did I do that to myself? I mean, I watched last week's episode, and it made me very angry, but I watched it again this week. And after over a season of not watching it anymore, I've been sucked back in.

I blame it on all those dvds I got from E-Z Pawn, from back when the show didn't blow. Re-watching the old episodes raised my hopes.

Uh, yeah. Hi everybody!

I had an excellent weekend in Toronto. Very much fun was had with Sarah and Craig (who I could link to, but I am too lazy to at the moment). And the Sarah Slean concert... wow. She is better every time I see her. The venue was amazing. It was so nice to see her play to a completely captive audience (and a big one, at that-- she kept saying how all the people made her nervous). And I just need to say, yay for the acoustics in churches. I sort of had an idea that the acoustics would be excellent though. I've never been to Trinity St. Paul's before, but my mom went to a Joan Baez concert there a long time ago, and I do have a bootleg Sheryl Crow concert from there. Acoustic Sheryl Crow, playing material from an album that didn't suck... happy sigh...

Anyway, getting back to the concert, Sarah Slean. Wow. She played everything from "Nightbugs" and I have to agree with Sarah -- the piano and vocal "Me, I'm a Thief" was probably the highlight of the show for me.

But there were other fabulous moments too. I loved hearing "Vertigo" again. I really wish that had been on the album. She played a new song called "The Score" that was excellent too.

Not much old stuff, except in the encore. She did "Blue Parade" (gorgeous), and "Playing Cards with Judas." The last was sort of a cool choice to play considering we were in a church. I was sort of hoping she'd go all out with the blasphemy and play "Angel." Ah well. Minor complaint. And not even complaint really, more like just a "that would have been cool."

I got a nifty free poster after the show. I'm going to put it up above my desk. My desk which is almost all put together! I've just got to put up the little doors on the shelf on the hutch. I'm such a tool. I can't believe it's taken me so long to put the fucker together. And I still haven't even started on the two accessory pieces. I suck. But at least my desk is together enough that I can move my computer and stuff onto the desk. That's something.

My brother starts work at my office again tomorrow. I'm pleased about that. It means I will no longer be tech support for the receptionist and her new-fangled computer. And it means that I will have someone to go out for lunch with again! Yippee!

And I hear that by September my work friend may be transferred back to my office. When the bosslady mentioned this to me, she also said something along the lines of "I know it will make you happy to have her back here." I'm taking that as a good sign that my contract will be renewed past September. Not that I was especially worried that it wouldn't be, but the fear of unemployment is always lomming overhead.

Okay, I've been all rambly here. I'm going to stop now.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present