I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-12-12 - 9:06 p.m.�
Tales from the pot luck

So much I could write about today... where to start?

First off, I guess I should say that the luncheon on Tuesday went really well. There was a large variety of food, and more importantly a large variety of tasty food. And much to my relief, the salmon loaf did not make an appearance. The volunteers all really enjoyed themselves, and I even enjoyed myself. And I was the least stressed I've ever been at one of these events, which is odd, considering how much I was stressing about it in the prep stages.

One of my volunteers almost made me cry before the party started. She brought me a present! I am always floored when one of the volunteers does something like that for me. I forget that a lot of them really appreciate us for making them feel special. It's little things like that that remind me why I stay at my low paying, and often full of crap job.

There was another, less warm and fuzzy but very noteworthy, little event at the party. One of my volunteers, a single man in his 60s, asked out one of my coworkers who happens to be 24. As in "asked out on a date." I'm terribly amused by this, and also irrationally jealous.

I say "irrationally jealous" because I absolutely would not want to be in that situation. First of all, there is the inevitable "ick" factor. And secondly I would have had no clue about how to turn in down in such a way as not to humilate him (and also not to lose him as a volunteer, because he really is an excellent volunteer).

However, I did spend 20 minutes chatting with this man at the beginning of the party while he stared at my breasts, so the irrational part of me is going "Hey, how come he didn't want to ask me out, when he was so interested in my boobs? What's wrong with my boobs!"

Of course, my coworker happens to have boobs as big as mine and is tall and skinny. Tall and skinny are two traits I don't have. Gah. I hate that little part of me that was jealous about this, because honestly, ick.

Ick.

Dirty old man.

Now that the stress of the party is over, and I seem to be over the grossest part of my cold, I'm in a really good mood. Work has flown by over the past couple of days, I have no stress, and I'm getting really very excited about Christmas. I'm finished all my shopping, I've decorated my apartment and I'm planning a little get-together for friends on Christmas Eve. And I'm looking very forward to seeing some of my out of town friends, such as you and you.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: The Ronettes

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present