I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-06-15 - 5:30 p.m.�
Pissy day at work

Work was sort of pissy today. Everyone was in a really bad mood. I'm blaming it on the heat because that is what put me into a bad mood.

There was more than the heat though. We had a big problem with a client who was being a total bitch to one of our volunteers-- a brand new volunteer, at that. It's been ages since we got any more volunteer drivers, so the last thing we want is for her to be scared off on the very first drive she gets (because the majority of our clients, though old and often cranky, are generally not mean to the volunteers). So my supervisor told the client that she couldn't use our service anymore. Well, the client is on Social Services, and she called up her case manager and cried to her about how mean my supervisor was to her, and how unfair it was that we denied her service.

So of course, the case manager called, the shit hit the fan, and my supervisor (and by extention, me) had to try to defend to the big bosses why we didn't want to deal with this client anymore. The whole situation was very heated and very unpleasant, and it still isn't completely straightened out yet, so I know I will still have to deal with this on Monday.

The thing is, I completely stand by my supervisor's decision. This client has been a problem for years-- way before my time with the program. Unfortunately, no one bothered to take down any documentation of any of the problems. Therefore now we have no proof of a history of problems with the client, so my supervisor looks stupid and cruel for cancelling the client's services.

And on top of that, nearly everyone in the office was sniping at one another. The receptionist was having one of her hissy fit kind of days (we have two receptionists-- one is good, the other is a little nuts, and has trouble handling any pressure).

At least today is Friday. I don't have to deal with these people again for two whole days.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present