I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2003-04-23 - 5:13 p.m.�
The one where I don't complain about work

Today was apparantly Administrative Professionals Day (or, to put it a less PC way, Secretaries Day). I only know this because my closest coworker/supervisor gave me a swank mechanical pencil. I'm always complaining that my pencils are never sharp, and it's a hassle to walkacross the office to the pencil sharpner (yes, I'm lazy). Hence the never-needs-sharpening pencil! It was sort of a joke gift, but also quite useful, so it was a highlight of my day.

I have to stop listening to so much Muppet radio. Today at work "Doin' the Pigeon" would not get out of my head. Such a bizarre earworm!

According to Pamela I have at least 9 years before I become too old for glitter. What a relief!

Work was alright today, except that I'm getting immensely sick of SARS screening. This SARS thing is really bringing out the worst in a lot of people. Paranoia and misinformation are bringing out hidden racial prejudices among my clients. Hello! Just because SARS has come out of Asia, doesn't mean that all Asian-Canadians are possible carriers. Nor does it mean they are dirty, or careless, or stupid, all of which I have had clients imply to me is the case. SARS is a strain of virus similar to a cold or flu. Last time you got a cold was it because you were dirty, careless, or stupid? I think not.

But I can find the bright side in my work. For every miserable, ignorant client there are at least 10 others who understand the need for the screening, and are happy to hear from me everyday. And the volunteers have been fabulous. I know my volunteers are good people, but they've been unbelivably good troupers through all the SARS protocol. We've had to change their normal volunteering routines, and in a lot of cases ask them to do extra work, but almost everyone has done it with a smile and a attitude of responsibility and professionalism. Amazing! I'm so glad that next week is our annual Volunteer Recognition party. There couldn't be a better time than this to gather them all together and say "thank you".

My job, as I'm sure all my regular readers know, has many a downside somedays. But it has two things going for it everyday: everyday I know that I am doing something to help people in need, and everyday something happens to give me faith in humanity. These are major things. I have worked in jobs where I go home at night and wonder what the hell was the point of it all. With this job, I know that what I do has a direct impact on people. Because I went to work today, I made it possible for 20 people to get to important medical appointments. I made sure 60 frail people got to have a hot meal tonight.

It's those things that keep me here.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Muppet radio

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present