I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-09-18 - 9:34 p.m.�
Mom goes back to being a donut lady, but at least I get my privacy back

My mother informed me that she gave her two weeks notice at her decent job as Cook/Dietary Aide and immediately following that will be returning to her soul-sucking donut lady job.

And here's the best part-- she expected that I would be happy about this.

Now, I know that she has been stressed about the decent job. They trained her in about 5 separate jobs at once, and she was feeling overwhelmed. In fact, she had pretty much convinced herself that she couldn't one of the jobs, the job that they decided she should be doing the most. I asked her if anyone at work gave her reason to feel that she couldn't do the work, and she said no, everyone said she was doing fine. She just didn't believe it for herself.

She told her supervisor that she didn't feel comfortable in this particular position, and asked if she could be given more shifts in one of the other 4 positions she was trained for. They said okay, but they could only promise her two shifts a week-- she'd probably end up with more, but she wouldn't be able to count on any more than two.

So, back to the donut shop she went. And she doesn't see it as a step backwards. Even though she could barely make ends meet as a donut lady, even though she came home near tears at that job some nights too, even though they 50 hour work week was exhausting her, she sees it as a good thing to go back there.

I'm pissed. She's settling because the soul-sucking donut lady job is comfortable and not challenging. Never mind all the reasons that she left that job. Injust working conditions, piddly pay cheque, exhaustion, and general bullshit? Not important.

But... after an initial bout of shock wherein I felt like the parent, telling a child that I was very disappointed in her, and that I hoped she knew what she was doing, I decided not to bitch to her about it. I just don't want to hear about how horrible it is to be a donut lady anymore, because she has chosen this knowing full well what it entails.

And on the plus side, I get to have privacy again. That's always a good thing.

Another good thing, that is completely unrelated, is that I picked up "The Goonies" on dvd today. I haven't watched it yet, but just having it makes me feel all warm and squishy. It was my favorite movie as a young 'un.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present