I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2003-02-18 - 9:53 p.m.�
So. Very. Tired.

Work has sucked this week in a whole new way. We've never really had to let any volunteers go before. There have been reprimands, sure, but we've never been faced with telling someone that they can't volunteer for us anymore.

What makes it even more difficult is the fact that it is one of my favorite volunteers, and what the situation leading to his possible termination amounts to is him being to old to do the job anymore. The whole situation just sucks.

On the up side, my rather lowly position on the chain of command means that I didn't have to be the one to have the chat with him, and I don't have to be the one who makes the final decision. On the down side, as the person he deals with most frequently, he came to me after the meeting to tell me his side of things, and more or less plea to me to defend him. I wish I could, but I not any more sure than my supervisors that he should be working with the clients anymore.

I came across a new job to apply for this morning. I'm not actively seeking new employment, but I do still check out the job boards in case something interesting crops up. And something has cropped up. I'm perfectly qualified, although I am lacking in management experience, which was sort of an implied qualification. But otherwise I'm a good fit. I have the required education, and seeing as it requires a University degree, I'm betting they pay pretty decently. I'm not entirely sure I'd like the job though... it's another working with old people job. Not that I hate old people, despite their tendency to be crazy and mean, but it's hard working with people who decline in health and die in such frequency.

But on the plus side, it would be a step up, career-wise and financially. And it would be a change, which could be a good thing.

I still haven't applied for it. I've had the mother of all stress headaches for the past 2 days, and it hasn't gone away when I've left work like my stress headaches usually do. I want to get my act together and apply for this new job, but I don't want to just throw something together when I'm not at my best.

And my mother is sick again. She's got a really nasty flu virus. Thankfully it hasn't affected her asthma too much, but it's still worrying, considering all the health problems she has been having lately.

I'm tired, and I'm feeling much older than I am right now. I want someone to take care of me for a change.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Blues, baby. Nothing but the blues.

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present