I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-07-07 - 9:46 p.m.�
What a weekend! What a dreadfully boring weekend!

Weekends are always gone too fast, the taste fleeting.

I have done next to nothing this weekend. Well, that's not entirely true. It's just that after the past couple of weekends of being busy and social, this weekend seems pretty uneventful.

I visited my grandmother for a few hours on Saturday. The surgury went smoothly. They had a dig quite a lot out of her nose, and right now she looks like someone beat her up, but I think once the swelling goes down she will look alright. The surgeon was able to recreate the shape of her nose, which was a concern.

The visit itself also went smoothly. Surprisingly smoothly. My mother had told me that the pre-Alzheimer's meds my grandmother is on have improved her disposition, but I hadn't really believed it until now. I knew the meds are supposed to help restore the person's normal personality as well as slow the memory deterioration, but the thing is, my grandmother has never been nice. As long as I've known her, her normal personality has been controlling, obsessive, and well, mean. So the fact that my grandmother did not say anything remotely nasty or manipulative to me was definitely a pleasant surprise.

And yesterday afternoon I went to see Men in Black 2. It was enjoyable, not nearly as good as the first one, but it was a good popcorn flick. I would have liked to see more of Rip Torn in it though, because damn man, you just can't go wrong with Rip Torn.

Today was decidedly less eventful. I didn't leave the house once. I watched "Summer Rental" on tv (again, you just can't go wrong with Rip Torn), watched some old Buffys, polished off the third Harry Potter book (realised that if I want to read the fourth, I will probably have to go out and buy it), made a couple of fimo-covered candle holders, and put away my clean laundry.

And now, much like Sarah, I have nothing left to do but dread going back to work tomorrow.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: "Sweet Ones" by Sarah Slean

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present