I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-07-01 - 8:59 p.m.�
Long weekends are never long enough

Happy Canada Day.

I am currently celebrating by listening to good Canadian songs about snow and ice, and trying to pretend that it's not abso-freakin'-lutely boiling in here.

Have I mentioned how much I hate hot and humid weather? Because I really, really do.

My long weekend started out to be busy and fun, and degenerated into a being little more than sweaty and lazy.

I spent Friday evening with my mom. We looked around at the lame sidewalk celebration downtown, had pizza and some CC&Gs and watched Wonder Boys. Excellent movie. I've had the dvd for ages, because I got a really good deal on a used copy, but I had not seen it before now.

Saturday was eventful. I went shopping with a friend, and spent more money than I should have (what else is new?). I bought some cool stuff though. I got a couple of really nice faux-animation cel prints. One from "Toy Story 2" and the other from "Fantasia." And I got a couple of clothes items-- a pair of beige pants for work (for only $11.00!), and a cute little skirt with a black and white rose pattern. I didn't buy a whole lot, but my end of the month pay never goes very far, what with rent and hydro and cable bills.

Shortly after that I went to Toronto with a couple of friends to go out for dinner, and check out another friend's new house. It was an incredibly enjoyable evening of catching up and eating too much.

Sunday I was pretty much exhausted, so I turned down an offer to go swimming. In retrospect, that was a stupid thing to do, as I ended up spending the day in my apartment doing little more than cursing the heat. Well, not entirely. I tidied up my room (while cursing the heat), and I read the second Harry Potter book (while cursing the heat), and I drank the last of the coolers (at which time I took a breif pause from cursing the heat).

Today I did more of the same cursing while digging the fans out of storage, cleaning them, and trying in vain to find a free electrical outlet in my room.

I was supposed to get together with another one of my friends, but the plans fell through. This has been happening with us alot lately. I'm not sure why, and I don't either one of us is at fault really, but it seems like we haven't been able to get together in weeks. It's disturbing. This time last year we were inseparable, and now we barely see each other. We barely even have an online relationship anymore. I don't want us to drift apart, but I'm not sure I have any control over it.

And on that happy note, I think I am going to stick on a Buffy dvd and paint my fingernails metallic blue.

Oh, one last thing to say to end off the long weekend:

I don't want to go back to work tomorrow. Even if there is air conditioning there.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: The Great Canadian Winter playlist, including: "Bobcaygeon," "Snowbird," "Ice," "Song for a Winter's Night"

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present