I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2003-02-01 - 10:03 p.m.�
Mom's in the hospital again.

Mom's in the hospital again. It's her asthma. Again.

Everyone but her saw it coming. My brother suggested she call in sick last week. Her friends offered to drive her to the doctor's on Monday. I yelled at her on Wednesday for going out all morning and then going to work. I begged her to go to the hospital for a treatment, or at the very least, stay home from work. My brother and I then tried to convince her to take it easy on her days off Thursday and Friday, but she decided against it, claiming to be fine... until Friday afternoon when she absolutely could not deny it any longer and went to the ER for a ventolin treatment.

Of course, by this time one treatment was not enough. They admitted her almost immediately, and she has been in the hospital since Friday night.

Now, because she is on a lot of daily medication designed to control her asthma, she is not in nearly as bad shape as she was when this happened 2 years ago. I spent this afternooon at the hospital with her, and she seems to be doing pretty well. I would imagine that unless something goes drastically wrong, they will let her out tomorrow.

That doesn't make me feel alright about this. I'm worried, of course, and also a little pissed off. Everyone could see that she was having problems and needed to slow down and take care of herself. My brother and I, her friends, MY friends, hell, even her boss told her to go home early one day. I don't know what she was trying to prove by pushing herself. It was pointless. If she had taken a day or two off earlier in the week and just layed low, she would likely be fine now. If she had gone to the hospital on Wednesday when it first started to get really bad, they likely wouldn't have had to admit her.

Okay, so I'm more than a little pissed off. I'm trying to control it, because I know it's not helpful to anyone. It's hard though, you know? It's hard to feel helpless.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: About a Boy soundtrack

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present