I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-02-27 - 8:16 p.m.�
Maybe this town is not completely filled with closed minded bumpkins (whoa, what a revelation!)

I spent the day at a workshop for workers who provide care or services to people with HIV and AIDS. I only vaguely fall into the service provider category, but when your workplace offers to send you to a training seminar for the day, that will include free food, you go. At least, I go.

It was very interesting. The majority didn't apply to me, or to most of my clients (for example, there was a lot of info on HIV in pregnancy, which really, really doesn't apply to my clients, all aged 65 and older), but it was good to learn of the resources out there in the community. And all the resources that aren't available in my community. I was surprised by a lot of things I learned today. Most of them reinforced how piddly and stupid and closed minded this city is.

Not totally though. It was good to be in a room of open minded, caring individuals who want to help people. And more than that, actually do help people. That part of things really reinforced to me that I want to be in the non-profit, community service oriented sector of the workforce. As much as alot of it gets me down sometimes, I do need it. I need to do something that is tangibly useful if I'm going to be motivated to go to work in the morning. At this stage of my life, anyway.

Quite a few people from my office were there today. I think the consensus was, even if the workshop didn't strictly pertain to us, it will look really good on a resume. So um, yeah, we all want to help people, but we don't want to work for our organization anymore. It's a shame that the office has become such a pissy place to be, because the work itself is so important and worthwhile. Sigh.

In other news, I actually did some writing this week. My monumentally huge bout of writer's block seems to have passed. Oh, happy day! Now if I could only finish some of the half-finished stories I've got lying around. Ah, well. I'm happy to be feeling creative again. It can only be a good sign.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present