I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-06-06 - 9:24 p.m.�
Highs and Lows of my day

Today was a strange day. I got nearly nothing done at work, which was okay because I have pretty much all my work for the week finished, and also hardly anyone in the office felt like working today. It was the second to last day for the people getting laid off.

The party last night was okay. I didn't stay too late, and I missed the really sad and awkward portion of it, which I was glad of. I don't work all that closely with the laid off people, and while I did want to show my support for them, I didn't really feel like I had a right to be in on their big goodbye thing. I was discussing it with my coworker who drove me home, and she agreed. We both felt like we would be out of place during the whole gift and tribute thing-- I can't really explain it, but I would have sort of felt like "Hey, you're getting a present which will totally make up the fact that I still have a job and you don't."

Which is kind of how I felt being there in the first place-- "Please accept my humble offering of cheese and crackers. They will ease the pain of your joblessness."

Yeah.

So, back to the highs and lows of my day.

High: Free food and beverage at work today!

Low: One of my volunteers got a job and quit volunteering for me.

High: Found out that my boss is arranging for me to have a week of paid vacation this summer even though it isn't in my contract.

Low: Learned of the death of my very favourite meal delivery client.

Low: Found out that one of my volunteers was just diagnosed with terminal cancer.

It was hard to deal with any more of my day after that. But there were more highs, although they were fairly subdued after that.

High: Went out after work with a high school friend (Interestingly enough, this was the one person from the reunion who annoyed the crap out of me. Since then though, we've been getting along fabulously. I'm guessing that it was just that being in the whole high school setting rehashed old and worn out rivalries that we really have outgrown. I'm glad.)

High: Went to the new Value Village. I love Value Village. I bought a Sesame Street book that I had in my youth that includes an awesome recipe for sugar cookies. I also bought a book called "Miss Piggy's Guide to Life." The book was on the self-help rack, and when I saw it I just knew that it had to be mine.

And now I think I am going to get offline and let Miss Piggy teach me how I should be living my life.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Otis Redding and Carla Thomas, "Tramp"

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present