I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2005-05-13 - 5:48 p.m.�
Fucking Friday the 13th.

So, generally speaking I am not one to be superstitious about things like Friday the 13th.

But then there are days like today. Today was just a disasterous enough day to make me think there might be something in superstition after all.

My day started out with me covering switchboard, as the receptionist had an appointment. She was supposed to be in by 9:30 at the latest. 10:20 rolls past and she still wasn't in. At this point I haven't checked my voicemail in nearly 2 hours, or managed to get through any of my regular work. So I found someone to relieve me, and got down to plowing through my mountain of voicemails.

Flash forward to 11:10. I have now listened to all my voicemails, but have only just begun to actually deal with them. The receptionist, who had just arrrived about 15 minutes early, came to my desk asking where my supervisor was. I told her that she was out doing a home visit. This was not good-- a potential new volunteer had just arrived for her scheduled interview with my supervisor. After 10 minutes of trying to get find and a hold of my supervisor, I decide I'd better just do the damn interview myself, so as not to lose a desperately needed new volunteer.

Now noon, finally back to my desk, only to find at least 3 things that I have to do right that second. Somehow manage to get through them, and my supervisor finally came back. I dumped several things with her, seeing as I hadn't got to them because I was doing her stuff and went for lunch.

Things were busy, but okay after lunch until it was time for the mea*ls o*n wh*eels delivery to go out. First the kitchen badly screwed up the order. Then we find that several volunteers had not shown up.

Then, in the midst of trying to work with my volunteers to fix the problems and make sure everyone gets more or less their correct meals, I get a call from one of my transportation drivers, telling me that he can't do one of the rides that I really needed him to do. At this point it was already past the time I was supposed to be at home, so I dealt with the meals stuff, and then left the rest.

So now I'm home, but I know that I have a big pile of work left for Monday! Yay!

However, I also know that right now I have a pizza on the way, and I big bottle of gin in the freezer, and absolutely nothing I have to do tonight, so I should be able to hole up here without any more stress befalling me.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present