I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-10-23 - 10:05 p.m.�
Fire trucks in your parking lot are never a good sign.

On my way home from work today I had a whole entry planned out. It was going to be sort of cute, sort of a reminiscene...

But then I got off the bus and saw the all the fire trucks around my apartment building.

I went around to the front, and police guys wouldn't let me even close. Everyone had been evacuated around the back of the building. No one would tell me anything. I arrived at the back, about the same time as my mom, who had heard about it and left work. Found my brother about 10 seconds later. He was fine, if a little chilly-- he had changed into his lounging outfit of shorts and a tee shirt about 10 minutes before the alarms sounded.

He did not have the cat. She wouldn't come out from under the bed when she saw the cat carrier, and the smoke in the hall was getting thicker, so he had to leave her behind. This sent me sobbing.

I sobbed even harder when we found out that the fire was on our floor.

Eventually a fireman found my brother and told him not to worry, the cat would be fine, there wasn't much smoke in the halls. See, after Tom left, he told every fireman in her could find that he had to leave a cat in Apartment ***, please save her now, thank you.

They chartered a bus to take us to get food at a temporary shelter set up by the Salvation Army, but pretty much everyone refused to go. There was no smoke or flames shooting out of the building, so I think everyone believed we would be allowed back in soon (we were right). Besides, there were at least half a dozen people swearing they weren't leaving without their cats/dog/hedgehog (yes, I'm serious about that last one).

Eventually they told us (and another woman standing with us who was panicking over her 4 cats that she couldn't herd out of the building), that there was barely any smoke in the halls, and our pets were fine. So then I calmed down, but not enough to leave without my cat. They said they thought the fire was electrical, and they had to track down the cause before we could go in.

We were evacuated until about 7:30. 3 and a half hours total. Our unit doesn't smell at all, although the hallway does. They are telling us now, that it wasn't electrical. Apparantly it was a kitchen fire, but not in the classic sense, in that there wasn't a fire, just sparks and smoke, so they thought it was electrical. They are pretty sure now that it wasn't electrical. They went into everyone's apartment and tested the hydro individually before they let anyone back in, just to be sure it was safe.

So, I'm back in now, and I'm fine, and the cat is fine, and our stuff is fine, and no one at all was hurt. My cat is a little jittery, and so am I, but other than that, everything is more or less fine.

I'm thinking I might take tomorrow off work though. A personal day, or something of that ilk. I might need a day off to mellow out.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present