I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-09-01 - 10:58 p.m.�
Autumn optimism

It feels like fall today. I love it. Fall is my favorite season. It has been for a long time, even though I've only really been able to admit it in adulthood.

When I was younger, autumn was synonomous with those three words that every kid dreads: Back to School! (insert terrified yelping noise here) I hated school, so of course, I hated the end of summer.

Except that there were things about the advent of another school year that weren't so bad. I didn't really notice them at the time because they were so overshadowed by all the things I was dreading (ie, school). But in a quiet way, fall has always been a hopeful time of the year for me.

When I was preparing for a new school year, everything seemed possible. It was a chance for a new beginning. The shiny new school supplies, the new shows, those silly teenage fashion magazines-- with all of that at my fingertips, I was always nearly certain that I had the tools for sucess:

This year everything will be different. This is the year that I will be organized. The teachers are going to recognize my brilliance. I'm going to lose weight. I'm going to be pretty, and popular, and smart, and everything is finally going to snap into place for me.

Other people make resolutions in January. Mine have always been made the week before Labour Day.

Even though inevitably, the resolutions would slowly crumble, and I'd settle into the same routine as I had the year before, the failure never held me down in fall. Because every year would bring new hope, and a new change. Autumn makes me an optimist. Go figure.

Even now that I am no longer in school, I still feel that new beginning urge for self-improvement in fall. I've been playing with my hair all week, trying to style it into something fabulous. Today when I was in the drug store, I bought a tube of mascara. Even though I know that I've never been able to put it on without giving myself raccoon eyes, I was sure when I bought it that this time would be different. And I decided that I'm going to start limiting the junk food that I consume.

Of course, this evening I didn't really think about that as I watched a movie and ate chips and dip with my mom. But you know what? It's okay! Because it's fall, and everything is going to snap into place for me this year. I just know it.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present