I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-06-01 - 9:14 p.m.�
I read the news today, Oh boy...

Sometimes I think that I should pay more attention to the world around me. Read the newspaper when I get home from work. Become more educated about the issues and causes that I believe in. Become aware of the atrocities in the world.

Instead, I find myself pouring over the online diaries of friends and strangers. I play Word Racer on Yahoo! for hours. I obsessively learn all the lyrics to all the songs on all The Tragically Hip albums. I listen to Travis's new album repeatedly, trying to decide on a favorite song. I lose myself in television shows, caring far too much about fictional characters.

And every now again I get some big reminders about why I spend my leisure time escaping from the real world around me.

Yesterday when I was at the mall, I saw an absolutely adorable little girl. She was not misbehaving, not screeching or causing a scene like so many small children in malls do. She was no more than four, she had blond ringlets and she was skipping over to her mother with her arm outstretched, asking to hold her hand. When she got within reaching distance of her mother, her mom grabbed her arm and yanked the girl towards her so hard that the girl lost her footing and tripped over her feet. The mother dragged her along beside her and screeched, "I swear to god, you had better not piss me off again tonight!"

This afternoon at work I got a call from a case worker at the women and children's crisis shelter. She was looking to set up a client who had just left the shelter on our hot meal delivery program. I made an assumption about the client without hearing the details. I said I was sorry, but our program was only open to the frail elderly, with exceptions made for those with severe disabilities or those recovering from surgery. The case worker cut me off, and explained to me that this client is an eighty year old woman. She had recently fled to the shelter after being badly beaten and otherwise abused by a family member who had been her supposed caregiver.

So, today when I come home from this, my mind still trying to grasp how someone could beat up an old lady, I had a choice: pick up the newspaper and read about crime, abuse, war, poverty, injustice and death, OR load up one of Word Racer's Social Lounges, crank up Day for Night and start singing.

Is it any wonder why I chose the latter?

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present