I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-08-28 - 9:21 p.m.�
Continued lack of sleep and dealing with weight discrimination.

It's not even 9:30 and I'm battling to stay awake. I didn't get much sleep again last night. I was tired, and I should have slept fine, but there was a really major thunderstorm and the noise and light kept waking me up. Plus, the power when out at least twice, so I kept worrying that my alarm wouldn't go off in the morning and I'd end up sleeping until noon.

Right now, sleeping until noon doesn't seem like such a bad idea.

Work was really trying today. We refused service to a new client, and I didn't feel that we should have. The client met our criteria in every way, but she was another very large client, and my supervisor decided that it would be more trouble than it was worth to take her on and try to find drivers who would take her. Because I was away last week, it was up to my supervisor to find her a driver, and honestly, I don't even think she tried.

This pissed me off. I said that I would not tell this client that we could not provide her transportation because of her weight. My supervisor agreed to be the one to tell her. Except that she didn't really tell her. She left a message on her answering machine saying that we didn't have any drivers available at the moment, sorry 'bout that.

The client called back later, and asked to speak to me because I was the one she had dealt with before. She was upset, and rightfully so. I repeated my supervisor's speech, and apologized again. But I told her that she could feel free to call again, and I would do all I could to find her a driver. I then told my supervisor that this felt a lot to me like discrimination, and I did not feel comfortable with it.

I think in the end, when I put it that way and she really thought about it, she did agree with me. And it isn't all her fault. I don't agree with her decision, but I know that she made it because she knew how hard it was to find volunteer drivers to take "morbidly obese" clients.

But this is really not a battle I should have had to deal with. Sometimes people in general really piss me off.

So that was my day. Lack of sleep and weight discrimination. Yay.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present