I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2001-01-14 - 8:13 pm�
What the crap is "business casual" ?

Well, I start the new job tomorrow. I'm glad that I'm working again, don't get me wrong, but I now that the day of work is fast approaching, I wish I had another day or two off.

It's just never enough for me. I just have to find something wrong with every situation. I need help.

I'm trying to figure out what to wear tomorrow. The temp agency told that the attire is "business casual." I hate that classification because it is so subjective. If they tell me that office attire is "formal business" I at least know that I have to either break out a business suit or a skirt and some stupid nylons.

But business casual... To me, that means dress neatly. Nothing risque, nothing with holes or sloppy mending jobs, clean shoes. Not all offices agree on that. I've worked in two offices where that did qualify as business casual, but I've also worked in a "business casual" office where I wore blouses and long skirts almost everyday and still felt underdressed.

As far as I'm concerned, if you are not dealing with customers face to face, why should you have to dress formally? If you are only dealing with customers over the phone can they really tell by the tone of your voice whether you are dressed to the nines or just wearing a tee shirt and jeans? Or what if you are just shoved into some back room doing filing or data entry? Will customers instinctively think, "There is a girl in the back room who isn't wearing nylons. This business is completely unprofessional!"?

I don't think so.

Sigh. I'm such a whiner.

By the way, this entry by Methybeth rocks my world. Go Methybeth, tell it like it is!

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to:

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present