I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-12-04 - 5:49 p.m.�
Nearly half my work day spent in a car + free lunch = good day of work

Today myself and 3 of my coworkers drove for an hour and a half to get to a meeting in Burlington. The meeting itself lasted under an hour, and then we piled in the car and spent another hour and half driving back to Barrie.

Normally I might see fit to rant about how a conference call or online meeting would have probably been more efficient, but I'm not going to. I got a free lunch, and I got paid to sit in a car for 3 hours. What is there to compain about?

The Burlington office was quite nice. I was mentally taking inventory of my surroundings the whole time I was there. The office located in an area I'm familiar with (right up the road from where the Chuck E. Cheese used to be). It's conviently located on a local bus route (and is not too far from the GO Station). It's not in walking distance from any restaurants, but it does have a nice lunchroom. The cubicles are much more private than the cubicles in my office, and they are located far from reception, so visitors would have no choice but to check in. The dress code seems to be a bit more business-y than my office.

And the office smells nice. Even the bathooms smell nice (whereas our bathrooms commonly smell like backed up sewage).

Yes, I could definitely see myself working there. I believe I'll be watching the job postings for that office a little more closely.

The meeting itself went well. I was there to act as my office's computer expert. "Expert" is a relative term in this case. I am only an expert in comparison to the rest of my coworkers. However, I must have done a decent job of fooling all the bona fide techies in this meeting. It wasn't long into the meeting before they were talking pretty much to me directly when talking about the proposed computer changes.

I think it had something to do with the fact that I referred to a data entry field as a "data entry field" and not "that space where you type in stuff."

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: The Tragically Hip

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present