I Should�ve Taken That Left Turn at Albuquerque

Today's Rambling

Old Rambling

Profile

Diary Rings

Host

Hello and welcome.

If you're new here, be a dear and Read my Disclaimer.

My diary not good enough for you? Fine, be that way. Try these instead:

plf
venusgirl
paper-girl
methybeth
purplebanana
sjofn
pischina
sorethroat
pummela
sirilyan
quoted
oddgoogle
marn
heidiann
tanzy
deedlit999
gonzostar
blueeyedmoo
weetabix
nap-n-knit
ramble-on
whinybutt

Hong
Annie
Red Polka.
Big Fat Blog

2002-07-22 - 10:06 p.m.�
Don't mock the burger guy

You know what commercial I absolutely hate? That Subway commercial where the smartass guy drives up to the burger joint's drive through window, and asks for something from Subway's menu. He then taunts the burger joint employee for not having said menu item, and at the end of the commercial, laughingly asks if we think he made the burger guy cry.

News flash: the burger guy likely has plenty of things to cry about, but having his burger joint's menu mocked is probably not one of them. The poor kid flipping burgers doesn't care about what his place of employment serves. And why should he for what measly pittance he's being paid? And taunting him is hardly going to make him care, or make him do anything about it. Fast food employees have no control over these things! They have little to no control over anything about their jobs. People should have some compassion, or at the very least not feel the need to mock the poor bastards. Because, really, who works in a job like that unless they absolutely have to? Do you really need to degrade them to make yourself feel special, Mr. Subway Spokesperson?

My mother works at a donut shop, and it's nearly unbelievable the demands that customers will make, and just how much they expect for the few dollars they spend there. There is nothing wrong with expecting a little decent customer service, but don't expect that because you bought a coffee that you have the right to treat the service people like crap. And that threat, you know the one, the "I'll take my business elsewhere" threat, it means nothing to the lowly counterperson you're shouting it at. One asshole's business does not mean squat to the lowly counterperson. Neither their paycheques or their feelings will be hurt if a jerk decides to go elsewhere. In fact, they'd likely be happy about it.

Well that was a nice little rant. It was the last in a long line of rants today. If I had updated my diary everytime I felt the need to rant about something today, I probably would have added half a dozen new entries. So many little things are just pissing me off today.

I'll blame it on the heat making me cranky. Either that or the fact that I didn't get much sleep last night due to thunderstorms. Or maybe I'm cranky because I had to essentially do two jobs today (and will continue to for the next two weeks) because my supervisor is on vacation.

There is also the dim possibility that underneath my sweet exterior I really am just a cranky bitch at heart, as one of my coworkers so generously suggested today. Although he was just joking. I think.

yesterday tomorrow

Recent Nonsense:

The big 3 0 - 2006-06-03

Hello again - 2006-05-03

Random stuff in place of an actual update - 2006-03-15

Pictures. Just Because. - 2006-02-23

Christmas 05 - 2005-12-26

Currently listening to: Tragically Hip, "New Orleans is Sinking"

Email

Guestbook

Notes

Buy Me a Present